FLORAÏKU

The creative minds at MEMO Paris set out to cross boundaries with their new label FLORAÏKU – and they have certainly succeeded: FLORAÏKU links Asia and Europe, it combines perfumery with poetry. And that’s not all: Clara and John Molloy are reimagining how perfume is used with their innovative Shadowing™ fragrance concept.

FLORAÏKU: The new label by Clara and John Molloy, the founders of MEMO Paris, interprets perfume as a poem. The name is a portmanteau of FLORA, the world of plants, and HAÏKU, the Japanese poetry form. Haikus aim to capture the essence of a single, distinct moment and relate it to images borrowed from nature – with the greatest possible simplicity and brevity.

This is the vision that was applied to the perfumes in the collection, which are all elegantly simple and contain an exceptionally high proportion of natural plant extracts (at least 50%). The fragrances were created by the perfume artists Aliénor Massenet – the nose behind most of the MEMO Paris fragrances – and Sophie Labbé.

The nine perfumes are grouped in three ranges, which are called the Ceremonies: Secret Teas and Spices, Enigmatic Flowers and Forbidden Incense. FLORAÏKU’s radical break with customary perfumery comes with its Shadowing™ concept: each of the nine core scents has two additional fragrances, which can be applied individually next to the main scent. They act as a shadow for the base fragrance: the Light Shadow adds a clear, light note, while the Dark Shadow contributes a mystical, dark layer.

FLORAÏKU

Die Macher von MEMO Paris überschreiten mit ihrem Label FLORAÏKU neue Grenzen. FLORAÏKU vereint Asien mit Europa, es verbindet Parfümerie mit Poesie. Und mit dem innovativen Duftkonzept des Shadowing™ brechen Clara und John Molloy mit weiteren Gewohnheiten.

FLORAÏKU: Das neue Label von Clara und John Molloy, den Machern von MEMO Paris, interpretiert Parfüm als Gedicht. Im Namen vereinen sich FLORA, die Welt der Pflanzen, und HAÏKU, die japanische Gedichtform. Dessen Ziel es ist, einen einzigen, bestimmten Augenblick in Worte zu bannen und dabei mit Bildern aus der Natur zu verbinden – und all das in großer Einfachheit.

Parfümistisch wird dieses Konzept konsequent umgesetzt: betont kurze Formulierungen und ein ungewöhnlich hoher Anteil an natürlichen Pflanzenextrakten (mindestens 50 %) prägen die Düfte, die von den Parfümkünstlerinnen Aliénor Massenet – sie zeichnet sich für die meisten MEMO Paris Düfte verantwortlich – und Sophie Labbé erschaffen wurden.

Die neun Parfüms werden in drei Serien, den „Zeremonien“ zusammengefasst: Secret Teas and Spices („geheime Tees und Gewürze“), Enigmatic Flowers („rätselhafte Blumen“) und Forbidden Incense“ („verbotenes Räucherwerk“). Der radikale Bruch mit dem Gewohnten ist das Shadowing™ bei FLORAÏKU: Zwei weitere Düfte, die einzeln neben jedem der neun Düfte aufgetragen werden können. Sie verleihen dem Basisduft ihren Shadow, „Schatten“. Der Light Shadow addiert eine lichte und helle Note, der Dark Shadow eine mystische, dunkle.